Public Enemy Number #1

In my previous blog I mentioned the negative impact television and the music/fashion industry can have on a female mind.  The constance images can set an unrealistic standard for women to follow and cause much harm.  More importantly they emphasize very little on valuing a woman’s true inner beauty or promoting a positive self-esteem.  Yet with all of this there is still a far greater enemy that women face.  One more fierce than any music video, magazine ad, television show or negative childhood.  You won’t have to go very far to find this adversary.  All you have to do is look in the mirror!  Yes, that’s right!  You are your own worst enemy or as I’d like to call you “Public Enemy #1!”

Now I know what I have just said may seem a bit harsh, but allow me to explain.  Have you ever witnessed (or participated in) this scenario: A group of women are talking.  One attempts to given another a compliment.  No sooner is the sentence complete does the woman receiving the compliant  says “Oh no I’m fat or ugly” or whatever word you care to use.  She totally rejects the compliment! Tearing themselves down with their own thoughts and words women speak against who they are.  Sadly this occurs often and is quite the norm.  The reason why I know this to be true is because I used to do it on a regular basis myself.  The filter in which all my thoughts and words ran through was entirely negative.  I do believe my upbringing played a part in it, still it is does not mean I have to keep the cycle of dysfunction going.  You can change the way you think!

Negative thoughts/self talk is a killer.  It destroys any form of real confidence one may have.  Too often women base their value on what they have, how they look, their relationship status, if they have children or what they do.  All these thing are subject to change.  Your value however is unchanging, therefore your confidence should be based on who you are as a person.  Yet we give way to negative thoughts/words when we do not meet our own list of criteria.  For me I found myself repeating things that were said to me throughout my childhood; things no child should ever hear.  Over the years also I added few words of my own.  I realized much of what I found myself saying I didn’t actually believe, but they had somehow became a part of me.  I had grown accustom to hearing them and change seemed almost impossible.  But this is far from the truth!

There is a saying “a house divided against itself can not stand.”  You can not love and hate yourself all at the same time.  Using your own thoughts and words to tear yourself down is a form of self-hate, plain and simple.  You can portray whatever image you like and you might fool some, but the truth will remain.  You must stop bashing yourself through your own thoughts and words!  Being your own enemy will sabotage whatever quality of life you desire.  You deserve a good life, so give yourself permission to have one!

It took me a long time to silence the internal chatter.  I had to learn to be more kind and gracious to myself. Confidence begins from the inside and my thoughts and words played a role in that.  I was NEVER going to meet every requirement on my list of criteria I had laid out for myself, so why beat myself up?!  Being my own enemy was not leading to the life I wanted.  Something had to change.  I could no longer seek external validation to silent the voices within, that was my job.  As my words changed so did my thoughts.  Soon I began to see myself in a different light!  The past was in the past and I was now free to live without any further self-sabotage!!

Your future will be so much brighter if you were on your own side!

Refining Beauty

~I am fearfully and wonderfully made~

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

