Clothing Shopping: Now & Then

So I feel it is quite apparent from my previous posts that I believe:

  1. A woman’s size does not determine her beauty or her value.
  2. That true beauty transcends beyond a person’s physique.
  3. Whatever the size a woman should wear and have access to stylish, flattering, sexy clothing!

I do also fully support a healthy lifestyle; one which incorporates a healthy diet and regular exercise.  However regardless of the stage a woman is at in her life she still needs to where clothes, right?!  And I am always been intrigued at the fashion choices for the larger than average size woman.  As I have mentioned before I have been plus size for the majority of my life, which includes middle childhood, adolescents and young adult/adulthood.  Currently I am on the lower end of the plus size spectrum, but still am categorized as plus size nonetheless.

As a young girl I hated clothing clothing.  I disliked shopping in general.  Going from store to store, trying on item after item, searching through bins and racks, it was hardly my idea of a fun time.  I always saw it as a task that had to be done rather than a experience to be enjoyed.  You see when I was in elementary school and high school plus size clothing across the board was dreadful (at least on the Canadian side of the boarder).  There were only a few places to shop and style seemed like a foreign concept.  Anything that could possibly fit me seemed only appropriate for a senior adult or elderly person.

I soon then turned to shopping in the mens department;  sad, but true.  It was easier to find sizes to fit and I felt less awkward (go figure).  As long I found clothing that fit I was happy and relieved.  But a lot of time has passed since then and I haven’t fully let go of my “frump” girl complex.  Even when I began to loose weight I was continuing to wear larger size clothing.  Still working through the shame I felt towards my body I felt extremely uncomfortable to have it exposed in any way.  So I remained in hiding.  Even with my massive weight-loss in 2006/2007 I have had a hard time adjusting to wearing different clothing and seeing myself in a new light.

Since then I have yo-yoed up and down with my weight like I fluctuate regarding my clothing selection.  Granted there are more options for women who are not a size 2 (namely me!), but I have yet to completely crossed over to the other side.  I do the girly girl thing for a few weeks or so (if that) and then I’m back to my track pants, t-shirts, hats and head-ties (guy type stuff).  If it wasn’t for going to church I don’t think I would ever dress up at all!  So here I am.  In the process of letting go of the old me while embracing the new me.

As I continue to walk out this journey I encourage you to take it one step at a time knowing that who you are or were does not determine who you will become.  In the end you just might surprise yourself!!

Refining Beauty

~I am fearfully and wonderfully made~

Checkout my other blog: http://littleroseca.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

